People of Festival 2021

Director / Coordinator

Dr Lydia Papadimitriou

Lydia Papadimitriou is Reader (Associate Professor) in Film Studies at Liverpool John Moores University. She has published extensively on different aspects of Greek cinema, and is currently researching on film festivals, distribution, documentary, and Balkan cinema. She has authored The Greek Film Musical (2006), co-edited Contemporary Balkan Cinema: Transnational Exchanges and Global Circuits (EUP 2020), and is the Principal Editor of the Journal of Greek Media and Culture. She has published numerous articles in books and journals, including New Review of Film and Television Studies (NRFTS), Filmicon, Studies in European Cinema and Screen.

Coordinator / Creative Support

Dr Lars Koens .

Lars Koens is a film and sound artist with an interest in environmental philosophy. In 2015 he obtained a PhD in Astrophysics from the University of Edinburgh, then worked as a post-doctoral researcher, and since 2017 has been teaching at Liverpool John Moores University in the film and art departments. Highlights of his film and art practice include a BAFTA-Scotland nomination for sound design, screenings at accredited festivals, such as Edinburgh International Film Film Festival, Hamptons IFF, Zinebi, Full Frame, Festival du Nouveau Cinéma, and exhibitions through collaborations as sound artist, such as Sonica, The Edinburgh International Festival, WRO, FACT, MMCA, and Aichi Triennale.

MA Students 2020-2021

The festival is organised as part of the MA Film module ‘Exploring Film Festivals, Distribution and Exhibition’ at Liverpool John Moores University. The students are involved in all stages, from programming to publicity. As programmers and curators all students watched the submitted films, and then, working in teams, they selected which ones should be part of each strand. They communicated with the filmmakers and were given the opportunity to work in Graphic Design, Social Media, Festival Trailers, Publicity as well as lead the Q&As with the filmmakers.

Poster Design

Vicky Cottrell

Valeria Di Pasquale

Natasha McMahon

Katherine Morrison

Social Media

Ben Donnelly (Instagram)

Matthew Hogan (Twitter)

Sophie Jones (Facebook)

Alex White


Sofie Foster (Animation)

Matthew Issa (Overall trailer)

Daniel Robertson (Fiction)

Ciaran Wainwright (Documentary)


Cammy Glover

Katherine Morrison

Ciaran Wainwright

Megan Williams

Programming Teams


Jess Auger

David Banks

Rosie Foster

Cammy Glover

Conor McAllister

Beth Moore

Daniel Newsham

Valeria di Pasquale

Jason Patience

Alex White


Vicky Cottrell

Matthew Hogan

Molly Hall

Connor Norcott

Joshua Joe

Daniel Robertson

Natasha McMahon

Megan Williams


Ben Donnelly

Micky Grier

Matt Issa

Sophie Jones

Katherine Morrison

Ciaran Wainwright